Skip to Main Content


In 2007, President Hrabowski signed on to the President’s Climate Leadership Commitment. UMBC is committed to bringing carbon emissions down to zero and building campus climate resiliency. The Climate Action Steering Committee oversees the implementation of the UMBC Climate Action Plan.

UMBC reduced emissions by 18% between 2007 to 2017.

UMBC is purchasing 30% renewable energy and investing in initiatives that reduce energy consumption.  We calculate our emissions annually and publish annual updates on our progress on our Second Nature page.

UMBC Climate Action Steering Committee

Consisting of faculty, staff, and students, the Climate Action Steering Committee is charged with advising President Hrabowski on strategies to reduce greenhouse gas emissions generated by the campus community, to engage the campus community in efforts to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, and to promote and support instruction and research on the impact of greenhouse gas emissions.

Climate Action Steering Committee Co-Chair:

Lynne Schaefer, Vice President Administration and Finance
Administration and Finance, Administration Bldg , Room 925

Climate Action Steering Committee Co-Chair:
Matthew Baker, Professor & Chair
Geography and Environmental Systems, Sondheim Hall 211-A

Energy Work Group Chair:
Lenn Caron, Assistant Vice President, Facilities Mgmt.
Facilities Management, Room 106A

Transportation Work Group Chair:
Julianne Simpson, Director of Planning
Facilities Management, Room 102G

Research and Education Work Group Chair:
Roy Meyers, Professor, Political Science
Public Policy, Room 318

Waste Reduction and Recycling Work Group Chair:
Charlie Hogan, Manager of Landscape and Grounds, Facilities Management
Grounds Shop, Facilities Management