Skip to Main Content

Energy & Climate Action

In 2007, President Hrabowski signed on to the American College and University Presidents’ Climate Commitment and formed the Climate Change Task Force.  At UMBC, 20% of our energy comes from renewable clean energy, and we actively pursue opportunities to reduce energy consumption.  We have calculated our emissions and developed a climate action plan along annual updates on our progress, published at

UMBC Climate Action Steering Committeeumbc emissions '14 edit

Comprised of faculty, staff, and students the Climate Action Steering Committee is charged with advising President Hrabowski on strategies to reduce greenhouse gas emissions generated by the campus community, to engage the campus community in efforts to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, and to promote and support instruction and research on the impact of greenhouse gas emissions.

Check out more details, videos, photos and stories with the 5 year report.

Climate Action Steering Committee Co-Chair:

Lynne Schaefer, Vice President Administration and Finance
Administration and Finance, Administration Bldg , Room 925

Climate Action Steering Committee Co-Chair:
Matthew Baker, Professor & Chair
Geography and Environmental Systems, Sondheim Hall 211-A

Energy Work Group Chair:
Lenn Caron, Assistant Vice President, Facilities Mgmt.
Facilities Management, Room 106A

Transportation Work Group Chair:
Julianne Simpson, Assistant Director for Planning
Facilities Management, Room 102G

Research and Education Work Group Chair:
Roy Meyers,Professor, Political Science
Public Policy, Room 318

Waste Reduction and Recycling Work Group Chair:
Charlie Hogan, Manager of Landscape and Grounds, Facilities Management
Grounds Shop, Facilities Management